It’s a bit of a Romp(er)

I’m not a romper person, ask anyone. It’s too fiddly trying to get out of your kit to go for a pee. Plus, I don’t want to have my clothes drape on the floor in a public washroom. Let’s face it, as we get older our urge to empty our bladders gets greater. Don’t ask me to wear something that takes more than a nano-second to take off – please! IMG_0216

Or so I thought. This months stop on the “let’s revisit all the Winter Wear Design’s patterns” are showcasing the Riviera Romper and the Boho Breeze. Both patterns have the usual range of sizes and are advanced intermediate (mainly) knit patterns. ‘Intermediate’ and ‘mainly’ are used as there are options to change the patterns by mixing styles, and using knits with woven fabrics; if you use a flimsy fabric with a lot of drape it’s a bit more of a challenge to sew.IMG_0212.jpg

I chose the Riviera Romper. I liked how it sounded and love how Suzanne Winter, the Designer, names her patterns after her French influences. Both patterns have benefits and I really like the off the shoulder aspect of the Boho Breeze, but The Riviera Romper has an interesting back to it. So Romper it was! I chose to make it in an interesting lightweight floral knit from my stash. The top came together beautifully, then I discovered I didn’t have enough fabric for the shorts. Oops! I fortunately found some matt black fabric and put together the two seemed to work.

The pattern is designed to skim the bust, be loose at the waist, and have the enclosed elasticated join sit on the high hip. I felt a bit uncomfortable with that so made mine longer then sat it between hip and waist. I also added pockets (I do love pockets) using the same fabric I’d used for the top. I didn’t make my binding, but used a purchased 1.5″ wide elasticated binding for a quick cheat and time saver. It worked so well I made about 20′ of it while chatting with friends. The shorts are voluminous, but that’s a good feature here where it’s already 30c+ in the daytime. I like any breeze I can get!

The back tie is a nice feature but not an essential one. My husband tied me into the romper for photos. I wondered why the arm syces felt so tight until I looked in the mirror and saw the back tie was pretty snug. It wasn’t as tight as my corseted ballgown but you get the idea. Once loosened it was very comfortable. I wore it out to dinner tonight and had to show my friends the ‘low waist’ join as they didn’t believe it was a romper. Plus by looping the tie over my head I was able to drop it gracefully onto my thighs for the essential bathroom break. IMG_0215

 

All in all a success. I do hope you consider making it and if you do, you will enjoy wearing it as much as I do.

Don’t miss any of the spectacular rompers
 on the Romp On Tour!!!
 
5/28
5/29
5/30
 
5/31
 
6/1

 

3 thoughts on “It’s a bit of a Romp(er)

Leave a comment